Tom Jones Covers Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, Leonard Cohen on New LP

Tom Jones Covers Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, Leonard Cohen on New LP
Until recently, septuagenarian crooner Tom Jones wasn't exactly a favourite among younger music fans. Thanks to his recent team-up with Jack White, however, Jones suddenly seems more relevant than ever, so now is high time for him to release a new album.

His latest LP, Spirit in the Room, will come out via Island Records on May 21 in the UK. A North American release will likely follow the day after.

This covers collection contains versions of tunes by Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, and more. Interestingly, Jones mostly favours these artists' newer material rather than their best-loved classics. There's also a dose of modern rock in the form of a cover of the Low Anthem.

Spirit in the Room was helmed by returning producer Ethan Johns (Kings of Leon, Ryan Adams, Rufus Wainwright) and Jones's backing band includes Stella Mozgawa of Warpaint on drums. It was recorded at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studio, and a press release reports that the performances are "simple, raw and soulful." See the tracklist below.

Spirit in the Room:

1. Tower of Song (Leonard Cohen)
2. (I Want To) Come Home (Paul McCartney)
3. Hit or Miss (Odetta)
4. Love and Blessings (Paul Simon)
5. Soul of A Man (Blind Willie Johnson)
6. Bad As Me (Tom Waits)
7. Dimming of the Day (Richard and Linda Thompson)
8. Travelling Shoes (Vera Hall Ward)
9. All Blues Hail Mary (Joe Henry)
10. Charlie Darwin (Low Anthem)