Various Artists 'Relapse Records: 25 Years of Contamination' (album stream)

Various Artists 'Relapse Records: 25 Years of Contamination' (album stream)
As previously reported, metal imprint Relapse Records is celebrating its 25th anniversary in a major way. While much of this includes a series of classic vinyl represses, digital music lovers are getting the goods too. Namely, the label has collected an ass-ton of assaulting numbers and packaged them together as the freebie release, Relapse Records: 25 Years of Contamination.

There are 184 tracks on this beast, so where to start? Well, Mastodon's punishing oldie "March of the Fire Ants" kicks things off with a series of precise, prog-tastic, detuned licks. A similarly minded track was culled Baroness' back catalogue, while the crusted-up stoner gloom of Rabbits "Burn, Sun Burn" sits deep in the collection, and Torche's comparatively bubblegum grooves are represented as well.

Over 25 years of heavy metal history are preserved here, with acts ranging far and wide. Want some gore-grind? Check out Mortician. 70's horror soundtrack-styled symphonics your thing? Well, Zombi's on this too. Hankering for some Cancon action? Fuck the Facts' "Drift" should do.

The tracklist also includes Neurosis, Brutal Truth, Obituary, Soilent Green, Merzbow, Indian, the Dillinger Escape Plan, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Pig Destroyer, Nasum, Disfear, Ringworm, Unsane, Coalesce, and so much more. Even metal-minded comedian Brian Posehn pops up at one point!

You'll find the grand, grinding gift from Relapse down below.