​Cancer Bats Release Surprise Album 'The Spark That Moves'

You can stream the full LP now and check out a new video for its "Headwound"
​Cancer Bats Release Surprise Album 'The Spark That Moves'
Canadian hardcore vets Cancer Bats have made an unannounced return with a brand new album called The Spark That Moves. It's out right now, and you can stream it in full.
The new full-length marks the follow-up to the band's 2015 offering Searching for Zero, and it was recorded in Winnipeg with producer JP Peters and mixed by Eric Ratz. Showcasing their unique blend of hardcore, punk, sludge and metal, The Spark That Moves hears the group delivering both their most melodic and most aggressive moments to date.

"We were just tired of waiting," said frontman Liam Joseph Cormier. "We spent all of 2017 working hard on this album, all while playing shows and talking with our fans, who were constantly asking 'when can we hear new music!?' We figured why make anyone wait any longer, let's just drop the entire new album all at once. I know as a fan, I just want to hear everything right away, let me buy the record right now! We figured, why not release our own music the way we want."  
In addition to the full record being available on streaming services, Cancer Bats have unveiled new videos for each and every album track. You can check them all out via the links in the tracklist, while the clip for "Headwound," which Exclaim! is pleased to premiere, can be found at the bottom of the page.

"Sometimes life doesn't go as planned and this song deals with exactly that," Cormier said of the "Headwound" video. "Crashing a dirt bike in Baja, Mexico, is never someone's intention but the important lesson is to follow that new path and not fight against it."
See that sentiment get translated to the screen at the bottom of the page under the full-album stream of The Spark That Moves. The album can be purchased on vinyl and CD, as well as digitally, over here.

As previously reported, Cancer Bats will be toasting the 10th anniversary of Hail Destroyer with full-album sets in Toronto (April 20 and 21), Calgary (May 16), Red Deer (May 17), Edmonton (May 18) and at Pouzza Fest in Montreal (May 18 to 20).

The Spark That Moves:

1. Gatekeeper
2. Brightest Days
3. We Run Free
4. Space & Time
5. Bed of Nails
6. Headwound
7. Fear Will Kill Us All
8. Rattlesnake
9. Can't Sleep
10. Heads Will Roll
11. Winterpeg