Field Music Return with 'Plumb,' Share New Track

Field Music Return with 'Plumb,' Share New Track
The last time Field Music released a record, it was the sprawling double album (Measure), which came out in February 2010. Two years to the week since that album arrived, the art-rocking Brits will drop the follow-up, Plumb, which will arrive on February 14 via Memphis Industries.

While it's not quite as hefty as its two-disc predecessor, Plumb still promises to be an impressively ambitious offering. It contains 15 tracks in just 35 minutes and, according to a press release, "largely abandons the 'classic' songwriting conventions embraced on their 2010 double album (Measure) and instead remodels the modular, fragmented style of the first two Field Music albums."

It also apparently blends "the surreal abstractions of 20th century film music from Bernstein to Willy Wonka" with "off-beam funk and pristine synth-rock." Consider us intrigued.

The album was recorded by Field Music brothers David and Peter Brewis in their studio beside the River Wear in Sunderland, UK.

Stream or download the angular closing track "(I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing" at the bottom of this page.


1. "Start The Day Right"
2. "It's Okay to Change"
3. "Sorry Again, Mate"
4. "A New Town"
5. "Choosing Sides"
6. "A Prelude to Pilgrim Street"
7. "Guillotine"
8. "Who'll Pay the Bills?"
9. "So Long Then"
10. "Is This the Picture?"
11. "From Hide and Seek to Heartache"
12. "How Many More Times?"
13. "Ce Soir"
14. "Just Like Everyone Else"
15. "(I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing"

Field Music - (I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing by memphisindustries