Garbage Treat 'Version 2.0' to Expanded 20th Anniversary Reissue

Garbage Treat 'Version 2.0' to Expanded 20th Anniversary Reissue
This May marks the 20 year anniversary of Garbage's Version 2.0, and to celebrate the occasion, the band have announced plans to give their sophomore full-length the expanded reissue treatment.

An expanded edition of the record will arrive June 22 through Stunvolume/PIAS, featuring the original tracklisting, in addition to 10 B-sides from the era. The reissue will be available on CD, vinyl and digital formats.

Garbage have shared B-side "Lick the Pavement" ahead of time, which you can hear in the player below.

Released in May 1998, Version 2.0 featured "Push It", "I Think I'm Paranoid" and "Special." By 2008, it had sold 1.7 million copies in the United States, going on to sell over 4 million copies worldwide. It was nominated for four Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year and Best Rock Album. 

Drummer and co-producer Butch Vig spoke about the record's legacy in a statement:

Version 2.0 is the sound of a band growing up, evolving, and more than anything, gaining confidence. When we started recording, we made a conscious decision to not reinvent ourselves, but rather take everything we learned from our debut album and filter it through the new digital technology we were grappling with. Sonically, the album has moments of razor sharp clarity and soft beauty. Indeed, it's possibly our best album.

Garbage singer Shirley Manson added, "Version 2:0 is in my opinion the quintessential Garbage record. We are all very grateful to the millions of people who took it to their hearts at the time it was released and to those who continue to love on it still."

Garbage have also lined up a series of live dates in support of the reissue, which will see them perform Version 2.0 in full. While the first batch are exclusively in the UK, a press release notes additional shows will be announced in the coming weeks.

Version 2.0:

1. Temptation Waits
2. I Think I'm Paranoid
3. When I Grow Up
4. Medication
5. Special
6. Hammering in My Head
7. Push It
8. The Trick Is to Keep Breathing
9. Dumb
10. Sleep Together
11. Wicked Ways
12. You Look So Fine


1. Can't Seem To Make You Mine
2. 13x Forever
3. Deadwood
4. Get Busy With The Fizzy
5. Soldier Through This
6. Thirteen
7. Lick The Pavement
8. Medication (Acoustic)
9. Tornado
10. Afterglow