​The Pretenders' Chrissie Hynde to Cover Beach Boys, Frank Sinatra, the Kinks on New Jazz Album

Stream her versions of "Caroline, No" and "You Don't Know What Love Is" from 'Valve Bone Woe'
​The Pretenders' Chrissie Hynde to Cover Beach Boys, Frank Sinatra, the Kinks on New Jazz Album
The Pretenders' Chrissie Hynde has announced plans for a new album of covers, recorded with the Valve Bone Woe Ensemble. Titled Valve Bone Woe, the record arrives September 6 via BMG.
The 14-song offering hears her delivering jazzy renditions of songs from the likes of the Beach Boys, Frank Sinatra, Nick Drake, the Kinks, Billie Holiday and more. See the full tracklisting below.
In a press release, Hynde said her interest in jazz was sparked by her jazz sax-playing brother. The name of her new ensemble and the album come from her brother's response to an obituary for valve-trombonist Bob Brookmeyer that she sent him.
"I thought that was a perfect title for the album I'd been working on with producer Marius de Vries," Hynde said in a statement. "I'm not hugely interested in branching out into other musical genres, being a devout rock singer as such, but jazz is something I grew up around — thanks to my bro — and I've always had a soft spot for it."
She added, "Jazz got sidelined by rock'n'roll in the '60s, but now the demise of rock seems to be heralding in a newfound interest in it, the most creative and innovative musical forms of the 20th century. I'm happy to jump on the bandwagon."
The first two tracks to be shared are versions of the Beach Boys' "Caroline, No" and Don Raye and Gene De Paul's "You Don't Know What Love Is."
Stream both of those cover versions down below.
Valve Bone Woe:
1. How Glad I Am
2. Caroline, No
3. I'm a Fool to Want You
4. I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes)
5. Meditation on a Pair of Wire Cutters
6. Once I Loved
7. Wild Is the Wind
8. You Don't Know What Love Is
9. River Man
10. Absent Minded Me
11. Naima
12. Hello, Young Lovers
13. No Return
14. Que reste-t-il de nos amours?