The Radio Dept. 'Running Out of Love' on First Album in Six Years

The Radio Dept. 'Running Out of Love' on First Album in Six Years
While Swedish pop group the Radio Dept. haven't issued a proper full-length since 2010's Clinging to a Scheme, it turns out they recently put work into two different albums. Only one of them will be released to the public, though, with their Running Out of Love due to drop October 21 through Labrador.

A press release explains that the unit "made two albums instead of one" after wrapping the promo run behind Clinging to a Scheme. The first crack at the bat didn't quite turn out as the group had hoped, it'd seem, so they scrapped the sessions to focus on a legal battle with their label.

"Ultimately we lost the court case but still managed to reach an agreement with the record company that gave us the motivation to create music again," the Radio Dept. wrote in a group statement.

The resulting Running Out of Love follows recent singles "This Repeated Sodomy" and "Occupied," with the latter being included on the song cycle. It's further explained that the collection is about modern life in Sweden, and "how our society seems to be in regression on so many levels. Politically, intellectually, morally."

The band add: "It's an album about all the things that are moving in the wrong direction. It's about the impatience that turns into anger, hate and ultimately withdrawal and apathy when love for the world and our existence begins to falter."

While "Occupied" touches on the band's court case, the Radio Dept. also use the record to target the weapons and arms industry ("Swedish Guns"), as well as touch on institutional racism and the "proud police tradition of protecting nazis and racists" ("We Got Game").

You can catch the previously revealed "Occupied" and the full tracklisting info for Running Out of Love down below.

Running Out of Love:

1. Sloboda Narodu
2. Swedish Guns
3. We Got Game
4. Thieves Of State
5. Occupied
6. This Thing Was Bound To Happen
7. Can't Be Guilty
8. Committed To The Cause
9. Running Out Of Love
10. Teach Me To Forget